Souris Historic Lighthouse
Visitors can climb to the lantern room, walk out to the balcony, and discover the panoramic seascape views of the harbour and town of Souris. The lighthouse also houses an interpretive centre with the history of sea glass, the lighthouse, the port, and the Town of Souris.
- 1st floor - History of Souris Harbour
- 2nd floor - Life Cycle of Sea Glass (made from sand - going back to sand)
- 3rd floor - History of Souris Lighthouse
- 4th floor - the light - spectacular view!!!
History of the Souris Historic Lighthouse
- 1880 - Souris East Lighthouse was built at a cost of $620.
- The square tapered tower, clad in wooden shingles, stands 45' base to vane.
- It has 3 flights of stairs leading to the lantern room which is completely surrounded by glass windows.
- The lantern was made by the Chance Brothers of Birmingham, England.
- 1881 - an attached dwelling was added
- 1911 - An oil shed was built
- 1947 - A pump house was added
- 1951 - The old barn was torn down
- 1957 - A storage shed was added
- 1959 - The dwelling was detached and moved from the site to Main Street and a new dwelling was built
- 1961 - One of the first mercury vapour lamps used by the Canadian Coast Guard was installed
- 1991 - the second dwelling was removed to MacPhee Ave. when Francis McIntosh retired as the last light keeper
- 2009 - the Lighthouse was transferred to Souris Harbour Authority
- 2010 - Souris Harbour Authority refurbished the lighthouse, opening it for tours and a nautical gift shop
- 2011 - Souris East Lighthouse was recognized as a heritage place under the Prince Edward Island Heritage Protection Act
- 2012 - Souris Harbour Authority expanded with a new building on the site which houses the nautical gift shop
- 2015 - Souris Harbour Authority refurbished the "top" of the lighthouse and painted the body. They also did necessary repairs and refurbishing of the interior - all ready for your visit!
Keepers of the light
- 1880 - 1905 - Angus MacDonald
- 1905 - 1913 - J. D. Lavie
- 1913 - ? - George N. MacDonald
- 1913 - 1920 - B. Bushey
- 1920 - 1935 - M. Frank McIntosh
- 1935 - 1956 - Andrew McIntosh
- 1956 - 1974 - Donald G. Osbourne
- 1974 - 1991 - Francis McIntosh